top of page

2012 my senior year


My year started with lot of work, spending lot of my time at Coca, also in the middle of nowhere, I used to go to POOH (Pull Out Of Hole) jobs, Selective completion and Y-tools completion jobs. I started to balance my work live with my party live at Coca. Every time I arrived at the camp in Coca I tried planned some parties, like going out for Karaoke, Dancing, or just drinking some cocktail. And sometimes I organized “the after party” too, I know I was terrible and party girl. This double life in Coca was easy to manage, yet my life in Guayaquil was difficult to manage. I missed some great parties with my friends, some adventures at the beach, some events too and the big reason was that I was working and living in Coca. In that year, I attended some courses (in Houston, Dubai, Ciudad del Carmen and Quito), so it just left me with few days to spend in Guayaquil, it wasn’t enough for someone that like to spent time at home and with her niece and nephew, too. I started to have a complicated life or in other words, no life, just work and more work.


In my senior year, I understood the meaning of “live the moment”, no make plans and just act or just travel. Every time I had some days off I decided to just do something for me. I couldn’t plan my vacations or my days off or even my weekends, because every time I made plans with family or friends, something happen and I need to cancel all; to me it was too complicated. Sometimes I felt like some strange force didn’t let me do what I want.


My biggest highlight of my senior year was my solo travel to Seychelles!!!! I know that this touristic islands are for honeymooners and families but I decided to go by myself because I had the time, the money and I wasn’t sure if I would be able to travel again to this place. So, I took this opportunity and I don’t regret anything about this last-minute decision. I will share with you my best photos!! However, I would admit that I will travel back to Seychelles but this time I hope I will go with my husband or future husband!!


View from my room!!!


Another highlight of my 2012 would be something that I just realize now. During my research for photos to upload in this post and in my Instagram and Pinterest account, I found the following: Since 2012 I always saw a guy in my city once or twice per year and constantly on the same month and same party. We knew each other but we weren’t good friends, so we barely talked to each other; the big reason I guess would be: we haven’t something in common or a topic that we could talk for hours. I tried to remember our conversations and most of them were about the university or my travels or that I’m ok or happy, I couldn’t remember all. This guy isn’t important in the following years until 2015!!! Thus, you need to wait to know what happen with us.


How I ended my 2012???


I ended with lots of changes in my work life. I became senior Completions Engineer, I had more responsibilities at work. My Coca’s boss got a transfer, he moved with his family to Saudi Arabia. Another boss came to our base; however, he wasn’t completions engineer. Because of his lack of knowledge of the completions segment and business, my Quito’s bosses decided that I should stay in Coca for a while. I started managing personnel and the operations at the workshop. It wasn’t bad, then I really wanted to get a life. I knew that this kind of life wasn’t for me. Being the boss in Coca wasn’t the type of job I wanted after I got my GFE. My main goal was to go out from Ecuador, I wanted to get a transfer to Asia or Europe.


My December in 2012 was lot and lot of work and you could add the stress too!!! Because my new boss was in at course to know more about my segment and after that he went to his country to spend Christmas with his family. He arrived at Coca (in case you want to know how was my first christmas in this place click here) on December 30th and I get home (Guayaquil) at 9pm. Good news I spent New Year’s with my family.


To know more about me and little stories about me follow me on Instagram and for more incredible photos go to my Pinterest account.




bottom of page