top of page

The beginning.....


Leaving my home for a new adventure


My Story started at the end of 2010 if you count this year it will be exactly 6 years ago. I know the name of the blog is 5YearStory, but my work and adventure related to this blog ended in 2015. When I finish with my story, I will decide if I will continue posted what happen with me this year (2016) or maybe I will change the name of the blog or create a new one, who knows???

Did you know that 5 year of craziness it is difficult to write? I have tons of picture, some fun videos and many stories to share with you, it was difficult to choose the best.


Everything started in October 2010, I just moved from my beautiful homecity in Ecuador (I promise I will write about my city because now it will be a big and long post), to the rainforest or best known Amazonía. I packed few things in one big bag, according to my new job I will work for 20 days and 8 days off to spend in my hometown. But everyone knows that my company wasn’t that reliable on given you the 8 days off after you reach your 20 days working; most of the time I used to work more days at the rainforest.


The day that I arrived was Sunday, from the airplane I saw lot of trees, big rivers and few houses, it wasn’t a big city. When the airplane landed at the Coca’s airport, you know that you are not any more in your comfortable big city. This is different, actually at beginning I thought that this was a town, because there weren’t big constructions and the bridge was old, small and just one car could fit in one direction. The road to go to my new place was dusty and the houses in the neighborhood weren’t finish. It felt like I will start living at the countryside.


Coca, also known Francisco de Orellana is the capital of the province Francisco de Orellana, in 2010 the population was 45.163 inhabitants. The city is located in the Amazon Rainforest and is surrounded by 3 rivers: Coca River, Napo River and a small one named Payamino River. It is visited by many foreigners that want to know more about the rainforest and the beauty of the flora and the wildlife.

The first person that I met was my new boss, we have a little chat, just to know a little bit of each other. He told me a little of his life and how many years he was working for this company. Also he explained me the expectations he has of me and the challenges that I will have in the next years. He told me too all the rules that are at the camp, the place that I will call “home” or at least the place where I will live. Finally, at the end of our chat I could say that my new boss looked nice and a good person, in that moment I thought that for the very first time I will have a good relationship with someone from the highlands of my country.


My first month was more studying than working, I felt useless. But I knew that with time I will be the best or at least I will put all my effort to become a great engineer. It wasn’t difficult to adapt, the horrible part is to use coverall, hard head, safety gloves and safety boots or as everyone knows (PPE: Personal Protective Equipment). Imagine wearing all this equipment during the whole day, when the weather is wet and it is an incredible sunny day. To me it felt like wearing winter clothes during a hot summer. If you know My hometown is always sunny but I didn’t wear this kind of equipment, therefore at beginning it was a little bit difficult to adapt. The best part of the day is when started to rain during the afternoon, and I spent all day at the workshop, sweaty and tired. My first move was walking outside and take a natural shower, but with all the clothes on. Yes, sounds like I was crazy or that I never saw the rain before. Still, feeling the rain after a long day of hard work it was refreshing.


Did you know that when you are a trainee in my new company everything is excited and you are happy all the time? The reason of that excitement is because you just want to learn a lot and at the same time you feel invincible, you feel like you will accomplish all the goals and that no one could stop you. That’s the beauty to be young and fool. In the next posts, you will see how I grew up in those 5 years……


For more photos and sneak peek of my 5 Years' Story, follow me in Instagram and Pinterest.

bottom of page