top of page

Brazil 2010!!!!


Continue with my story I would say that this past 5 years working for this company was great, I had my ups and downs. It wasn’t easy to survive and be as good as I could in this world, it was hard to gain the respect of my peers and showed to the client that I was competent to perform my work.


After my almost 1st month at this company, I was assigned to join the welcome in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. As everyone said: Enjoin it because is the first and last paid vacation that the company will give you. I was excited, my first travel and everything is paid for someone that is not my parents and definitely I didn’t pay anything too.


In this trip I knew people from others countries example: Colombia, Venezuela, Trinidad & Tobago, Peru, China, USA, Mexico, and of course Brazil. The things that we share were: love for travel, and excited to be part of this company. All of us had a happy face and at the same time we were tired because we were out almost every single night.


That week felt like I was in a Harry Potter movie, the only thing that I didn’t see was the Sorting Hat. All the countries that I mention before wasn’t assign to the same departments as me. So you will find that there were people working in these segments: drilling, well services, completions, wireline, etc. instead of having Gryffindor, Slytherin, Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff. The good thing that I could thought in that moment was: Ok, this works for me, I like to be part of a Harry Potter movie and the good news, there is not Voldemort. But I need to learn a lot of my tools and how to perform my job in order to have success all the time.


My “week off” in Brazil was amazing, I know you will think that I was just hanging out, drinking, and dancing; in fact I had classes, we review some lessons, they taught us a little introduction of the oil and gas, about the company, all the benefits, and at the end of the course I did a test and I passed with good grades, it was easy *happy face* and most of the days I was sleeping. In that course they gave us some free gifts: coverall, safety boots, tally (a small notebook that you use when you are at the field) and for the girls there was a device that will help us to pee while we were standing, I know it sounds crazy, but that was another gift from the company.


The places that I knew were spectacular, here are some of the best: Ipanema, Copacabana, the market at Copacabana, Pão de Açúcar, Christ the Redeemer, LAPA, Barra Tijuca. I would say that the best place to have fun and dance all night is LAPA 40, you should go to any of the places that LAPA offers.

Why I don’t say that it was incredible to visit the stadium Maracaná?? The reason that I don’t listed the stadium is because it was close for remodeling. So I couldn’t visit the Maracaná in the inside. It is something that I hope I could visit other time.

Below you will find a video, that I found in Youtube, it was taken in LAPA 40!!!, same year and almost the same week. I saw that show too. In my opinion this is the perfect place to end my week in Rio. I upload a short video of that incredible night in case you want to see more videos regarding this day or about other post please click on the following link: 5YearStory. I hope that in the future I can go back to LAPA 40 and have an incredible night again.


To review more pictures of my trip to Brazil, please go to the Gallery, or my Pinterest account and if you have question please feel free to contact me.



bottom of page